2013 Louis Philippe Cup teams announced

8 January 2013

~ Second edition of Golf's IPL set to kick off with nine teams ~

New Delhi: Following its highly acclaimed inaugural edition in March 2012, the Louis Philippe Cup, golf's equivalent of the IPL, is set to be contested by nine teams of India's top professional golfers at a new venue at Jaypee Greens, Greater Noida from 11 February to 16 February 2013.



The Louis Philippe Cup is sanctioned by the Professional Golf Tour of India (PGTI) for three years as the exclusive professional team golf tournament in India and conceptualised by RN Golf Management.

The tournament was conceived in order to change the way fans relate to India's top professional golf stars. Professional golf has always been an individual sport but the Louis Philippe Cup introduced the city based team format, inspired by the IPL and thereby elicited higher engagement and following among fans.

The success of last year's event was underlined by the presence of the sub continent's biggest names in golf, unprecedented media coverage, which surpassed any other golf tournament in India till that point and enthusiastic spectator turnout at KGA Bangalore. The surprise winners were Navratna Ahmedabad represented by big hitting Vikrant Chopra of Delhi, prolific youngster Mithun Perera of Sri Lanka and the consistent Vinod Chopra, also of Delhi. They edged out the more fancied Puravankara team led by the in-form Anirban Lahiri in the final.



Speaking on the occasion, Mr. Jacob John, Brand Head, Louis Philippe, said, "Golf is a game that symbolises style, sophistication and success; characteristics that are reflected in our brand." Speaking about the opportunity this event gives amateur golfers, Mr. John said, "Fan involvement is a key element of the Louis Philippe Cup, and through this event we want to build a platform where true golf fans have a chance to play alongside the pros, a format that can only be adapted in a sport such as golf;

where the club golfer's performances do not affect the score and performance of the pros. This association also gives us access to interesting content that help us engage our core consumer base."

The nine participating cities in this year's edition are Delhi, Kolkata, Chennai, Bangalore, Gurgaon, Chandigarh, Noida, Ahmedabad and the latest inclusion, Greater Noida. All of them competing to be crowned the champions of one of the richest tournaments on the PGTI calendar with a total prize money purse of Rs. 1.20crores.

The teams are respectively named AVT Kolkata, Take Solutions Chennai, Puravankara Bangalore, DLF Gurgaon, Dev Ellora Chandigarh, Shubhkamna Noida, Navratna Ahmedabad and Jaypee Greens Greater Noida. The Delhi team sponsors will be announced soon.

The unique format of the four-day event features two days (36 holes) strokeplay in which all nine teams will compete. The four teams with the best total team scores over 36 holes will advance to the semi-finals. From the semi-finals onwards the top four teams will play a knockout. One-on-one matches between the three players of each team will earn each team one point for a win and zero for a loss. The two winning semi-finalists will go head-to-head in the finals on the fourth day, while the losing semi finalists will battle for the third place.



The winning team stands to win Rs.36 lakhs, while the runners-up will earn Rs. 24 lakhs, the team finishing in the third place will earn a purse of Rs.18 lakhs and the team placed fourth will receive Rs.12 lakhs. Teams ranked 5 to 8 after the two rounds of strokeplay will battle it out for minor placings while the ninth team will not compete on the final two days.

Star Indian players who are confirmed to play include 2012 Scottish Open Champion (ranked no.32 on the 2012 European Tour Jeev Milkha Singh, who turns out once again for Shubhkamna Noida, the 2012 Sail SBI Open (Asian Tour) winner who made a splash at the 2012 British Open Championship Anirban Lahiri who returns once again for Puravankara Bangalore, three time Indian Open champion and former Asian Tour No. 1 Jyoti Randhawa who again plays for DLF Gurgaon and winner of the 2011 Singapore Classic Himmat Rai (who will play for Delhi in 2013), India's highest ranking player, the 2012 Macau Open and Yeangder Tournament Player Championship (both Asian Tour) winner Gaganjeet Bhullar, who will join the newly added Jaypee Greens, Greater Noida team.

Apart from these star players, the top 18 ranked players on the PGTI 2012 final order of merit are assured of a starting place in one of the nine teams.

Team sponsors teams expressed their solidarity and excitement of wanting to win the trophy. They included defending champion Devang Shah of Navratna Developers (Ahmedabad), 2012 runner up Sanjita Cariappa of Puravankara Projects (Bangalore), H. R. Srinivasan of TAKE Solutions (Chennai), Aakash Ohri of DLF Ltd (Gurgaon), Piyush Tiwari of Shubhkamna-Advert (Noida) and Ms. Vidya Basarkod of Jaiprakasah Associates (Greater Noida).

Kapil Dev, sponsor of the Dev Ellora Bangalore team mentioned that he felt this event has helped put Indian pro golfers on an unprecedented pedestal compared to the importance reserved otherwise only for cricket stars and that this was a great morale and confidence booster for the professional players and the profile of Indian golf.

About Louis Philippe

The brand draws its name and inspiration from King Louis Philippe of France, who was famed for his generosity of spirit and his appreciation of the arts. Louis Philippe thrives on excellence, elegance and opulence. Synonymous with premium, international men's fashion, Louis Philippe was launched in India in 1989, and ever since then, the brand has been enjoying the repute of being the leader in formal and guasi-formal wear. Taking cognizance of the evolution of the Indian gentleman and so also

his preferences, the brand has constantly innovated and modelled itself to suiting and meeting those requirements and this is what sets Louis Philippe apart as a premium, international men's fashion brand.